Watercolor Tools and Paper


I think it’s about time to post what I use to create my art. I took pictures of these last month, using my lovely new camera. Still, I lament my lack of photography skill but at least it’s not super blurry right?

So aside from a big jar of water (some prefer to use two jars of water – one to clean and one to use for mixing), I took pictures of what you will usually find on my desk when I am watercoloring. I went about describing how I use them too!

Top left to bottom right

National bookstore #50 brush – for painting large portions of the paper / sweeping away eraser dusts 😀

Starbucks tissue or any tissue (but I like the Starbucks kind hehe) – for wiping excess water off your brush / cleaning / sweeping away eraser dusts 😀 😀

Prang watercolor set – super love the colors of Prang! Not to mention they are pretty much affordable, compared to other high-end watercolor brands. If you are just starting, or not making such a career out of art, start with Prang. If you run out of a color, there are some establishments that sell spare colors too. (My friend just gave me spare colors for Christmas! Best gift ever!!) You can look for it in National bookstore.

Faber Castel eraser, Pentel clic eraser

Kuru Toga mechanical pencil – I love this mechanical pencil! I quote from their website, “It has a core rotation mechanism that continually rotates the pencil lead as you write. A spring-loaded clutch twists the lead incrementally every time you lift the pencil from the paper. This allows a uniform wearing of the lead so that it always remains pointed.” Wow, so much thought over a pencil!

Brushes – I got brushes in various brands since I’m not choosy with what I use as long as they are ok to use. I got size 00, 1, 2, 4 and 6. Some brands I use are Berkeley, Best Buy and Martol.

My friends gifted me with a Clairefontaine watercolor pad this year. I haven’t gotten around much to using it yet because I still have some spare watercolor paper lying around (whose quality sucks by the way but I still gotta use them) Care for a review when I do?

This is my absolute favorite watercolor pad, the Canson Montval 300gsm. Not only because it is (for me) most affordable and best in quality for the price. The 300 gsm helps absorb a lot of watercolor so I don’t have to fear applying wet on wet techniques to my artwork. Most of my works, especially the heavily illustrated and colored ones, are on this lovely paper. For practice, I use it’s cousin, the Canson 200gsm.

For PH residents, most of these materials are found in the one-stop shop for all supplies – National bookstore or you can opt to purchase in the Oil Paint Store, which sells more variety, but is located in Sta. Cruz, Manila.

Well, there you go! Hope this post is interesting and enlightening to you my dear readers. If you have any questions, please leave a comment and I’ll be happy to answer!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Watercolor Tools and Paper

  1. I’ve always wanted to start to illustrate & paint animals for a cause which would make my soul happy and could possibly help more furry friends.~ Thank you for this very informative blog post!~ All the best! ♡

    1. Hi razel! yes me too! There’s something so soothing in painting animals especially the domestic ones. I hope you push through in illustrating and painting animals – would love to see them! 🙂

I love to hear your thoughts

