Earth has no sorrow that Heaven cannot heal


Here bring your wounded hearts, here tell your anguish; Earth has no sorrow that Heaven cannot heal. – Thomas More

I took inspiration from reading this manga called Adekan. It tells the adventures of a straight-laced policeman, Yamada Kojiro who met the beautiful and mysterious umbrella seller, Yoshiwara Shiro. The story and interactions of the characters are super funny and I like that they have a dark plot brewing in the seemingly comedic stories. It also seems like a bit of BL but so far it’s only a little bromance (it’s still sexy though!). πŸ™‚

The latest chapter’s story is about the wife of a flower arranging school, plotting to win back her cheating husband’s love. Shiro somehow got involved in the investigation and he found out that the husband is attracted to women who need him. So the wife, in despair, arranged an accident that made her lose her legs. The husband immediately went back to her arms, knowing that her wife would now need help in dealing with every tasks. It’s a very sad story but makes you think about how people choose their partners.Β 

Drawing this took a long time because I’m not used to putting a lot of details on my work. Had to stop many times and only resumed when I feel like it. It was also a chore to paint but my favorite parts were the flowers and her kimono. It looks pretty nice overall and I took a number of photos of it on my workstation. Yes, my table is that small. I can’t put too many stuff on it and it’s a bit cramped to work on. The positive note on this tiny table is that it can fit my room so I can watch TV while drawing. And I’m forced to clean it up more often than I would have if the table is enormous. πŸ™‚

Now I am off to work on another fashion illustration for Katha magazine! It’s a good start for 2014! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Earth has no sorrow that Heaven cannot heal

I love to hear your thoughts

