Review – Derwent Inktense Blocks


I’ve been curious about the Derwent Inktense Blocks ever since I read about them in the Internet.  They are watersoluble blocks of rich colors used like one uses watercolor tubes or pans. You can use the blocks to draw directly on your paper, then paint it with water to blend it. Or reverse the method, wet the paper then draw using the color blocks. Any method would be sure to create a beautiful and intense effect!

I used mine like a watercolor pan – soak brush with water, paint on the color block then onto the paper. What you need to watch out is the color is really intense and rich (see sample above) even if you think you’ve only applied a little bit of color. I had to put more water to create lighter tones. Gauge the color by painting a small portion on another piece of paper before using it on your masterpiece. Another plus for me is that when the paint dries you can use the blocks to draw again on the same parts – you won’t have to worry about layering one color after another.

I really like using the color blocks rather than the watercolor tubes I’ve been using for years. Perhaps I’ll try combining the use of color blocks with my paint tubes and we’ll see what will come up. 🙂

Here’s the finished close-up:

Don’t you just love the striking colors? 🙂  Full image can be found here.

For my Filipino readers, Derwent Inktense Blocks is available in National Bookstore. Try it out and let me know what you think! 🙂

Updated: This artwork and this one are also made using Derwent Inktense. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Review – Derwent Inktense Blocks

I love to hear your thoughts

